2013 Nobel Prize in Physics
发布日期:2013-10-17    来源:The University of Tokyo    

The Nobel Prize in Physics, which was announced on 8 October 2013, was awarded to Fran?ois Englert, professor emeritus at the Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium, and Peter W. Higgs, professor emeritus of the University of Edinburgh, UK, “for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider”.


Event display of a 4-muon candidate in the ATLAS detector. ATLAS Experiment ? 2012 CERN (License: CC-BY-SA-3.0) http://cds.cern.ch/record/1605821


In total, 110 Japanese researchers from 16 universities and research institutes contributed to the discovery of the Higgs boson. Professor Shinji Asai’s group at the University of Tokyo’s Graduate School of Science and Professor Tomio Kobayashi’s group at the University of Tokyo’s International Center for Elementary Particle Physics produced outstanding research as part of the ATLAS group of more than 3,000 researchers from 38 countrie s, analyzing data produced by the LHC experiment at CERN, Geneva, Switzerland.


版权所有@ 北京市电子科技情报研究所 京公网安备 11010102003025号

地址:北京市东城区北河沿大街79号  邮编:100009  Email:bjdzqbs@126.com